Healing Power of Love

Wanted to share this reflection on gratitude with you!
It is such a powerful concept….in this meditation….just think of it….
It struck me with the power of revelation…like a lightning flash of truth.

In my deepest wound, I saw your glory and it dazzled me!

Oh, I feel the truth of that! Wonderful point of meditation.
Oh the gift of love comes so powerfully in forgiveness…in caring for another….it gives us a chance to love so deeply.

Give me your failure, and I will make life out of it…..what a promise!

This is the redemptive power of the message of love of the gospels…..beautiful healing gift of divine love.
When I feel the depth of loneliness and pain of the world….I enter the wounds and I feel and share in Love’s healing touch.

When we feel our poverty….our smallness….or the broken aspects of our selves, and an awareness of our poor hearts, Love comes rushing in to fill the chalice with divine healing. Our humility invites God’s Greatness to love us. Here is something of the divinity of opposites that is truly beautiful in the relationship with our Beloved. The burden becomes a moment of anointing.

Thrilling revelation of the power of love!

Love, Naomi

From: cac@cacradicalgrace.org
Daily Meditation: What can our wounds do for us? Nov 22, 2009

GRATITUDE
by Richard Rohr

Question of the Day:
What can our wounds do for us?

Give me your failure, God says, and I will make life out of it. Give me your broken, disfigured, rejected, betrayed lives, like the body you see hanging on the cross, and I will make life out of it. This is the divine pattern of promise and transformation which gives such hope to history. It is probably the central Gospel message.
We are all still handicapped and terribly aware of our wounds, but as St. Augustine (354 – 430) says in his Confessions, “In my deepest wound I saw your glory and it dazzled me.” Figure that one out! He seems to be saying that against all expectations our very failures can be our way through to God and to ourselves. That utterly levels the playing field. Even Julian of Norwich (1342-1416), at the risk of shocking us, says, “God sees our wounds, and sees them not as scars but as honors….For God holds sin as a sorrow and pain to us. He does not blame us for them” (Revelations of Divine Love, Chapter 39, Showing 13). Wow!
If the Gospel is true, we might actually eventually thank God for our very weaknesses and failures.

Adapted from Everything Belongs, p.166

Drawing of Jesus and the Lamb
by artist: Katherine Brown
http://www.jesusandthelamb.com