Who is My Beloved

Who is My Beloved?
by Naomi

my Beloved emerges and arises
from within
divinely created moments
to surprise and startle me awake
from my human slumbering
talking to me in rumbling thunderstorms
in whirling winds washing away heat
from the parched surfaces
of wilting flowers and thirsty lips
rinsing the dust from the leaves
washing the windows of the world
with dancing raindrops of light
appearing in penetrating minds and insights
in discoveries of truth
spiritual arms of expanding love and open hands
that clasp my own

the waters of life clear away
whatever is confining brilliance
dissolving limitation
revealing flashing potential
beyond our knowing

my Beloved soothes my pain
drowns the empty noise
opens my hearing
and sings to me in a thousand bird songs
humming insects
blinking in a glowing firefly
reflecting gleaming light from flying fish
leaping from the sea
to glimpse the sky

my Beloved plays with words
rearranges meaning
creates new language
enlightens and brightens
with a laugh that shakes the world

my Beloved appears in a child
who wants to be held
blossoms in a flower that delights my eyes
peers through an owl outside my window
watching in the night
in a soaring hawk
a clumping elephant
a sleek panther
a clumsy pelican with a beak
full of fish
a wild mustang
a clucking chicken showing her chicks
how to scratch for food
or in an unfolding story told around a fire
flowing in a whispering stream
roaring in a rushing river
circling in a spinning planet
crawling in an ant
slowly building a mound of dirt
to make a home
peeking wonderingly
out of the soft petals
of the pinkness of a peony

my Beloved is omniscient and absolute
entertaining and stunning
beautiful and gangly
awkward and new
strange and familiar
compelling and thrilling

I am bewildered
perplexed
overwhelmed
excited
blood stirring
heart racing
in love with such
endearing diversity and range
ever changing faces
circling me with tenderness
humbling me with scarcity
giving birth to a star
scattering seeds
across the universe
to give birth to more

I am enchanted by infinite love
by revelation
by the gift of creation
by strong arms
flashing eyes
filled with tears
with love that ever amazes
and opens my heart
in disarming and charming ways

my Beloved makes each moment new
sweeping me into feelings
I have never felt before
leaving me reeling and feeling
like a bride
of eternal life
laced with an enhancing
heavenly dance
creating a new story of love

the storm that awakened me
quiets into the sound of gentle raindrops
soothing and cradling me
to rest again as every drop
becomes a waking dream
that pools and expands
until the dawn breaks
flooding the valleys of my being
with endless beauty