Sacred Encounter

Sweet touch of dawn
awakening me
kissing the last
of lengthening
shadows away that like
to follow joy
and obscure the emanations
of light
that bless the world

Love so fills my eyes
the gaze
brushes everything in sight
with beauty
using darkness
to deepen
the soft robe
of night
the beloved tenderly places
around my shoulders

Starlight lingers
in my hair
and garlands of secrets
are hidden
in the flowers
clinging to my gown

My countenance is radiant
with the beloved
and the light of day
reveals the Joy
I carry inside
and am helpless to hide
so I draw the blinds
and cover my face
to keep the grace
a while longer

Laughter dances all
around the room
and the voice of intimacy
has opened
my sacred listening

Night surrounds me
while I close
my eyes
to pretend to sleep
and even the stars
try to
continue
their twinkling
but we fail
to delay the dawn

The birds are already singing
and building nests
with strands
of hair
left in the grass
among the violets
for love
is in the air

Bewildering dew
glistens
on my lips
from sips of wine
that loosened
the silvery tongue
of the beloved
transforming me into
a living tree
of heaven
in the golden rays
of summertime

__________________________________